Hello Bello

Here you can talk about everything that's offtopic.

Moderator: Dust

Gyon
Die-hard

Hello Bello

Post by Gyon » 08 Jul 2011 11:25

Hello Guys :)

I hope you are all well. As some of you know or noticed I left wow. children have taken over my time and computer too! I actually have to ask for permission from my 7year old to let me on! its bad I know! my company moved to central london location so spend more time travelling now.
I do have a good news too though!I got approached from work to a position of Release configuration analyst/TFS administrator and some project management, and got accepted for the role. Its quite a big jump for me, so I have to start learning :P I have been told I should look into basic coding. any suggestion where I should start looking into it? mind you I am a beginner so any suggestion of websites/tutorials/book would be most welcomed.
I hope whoever still plays still having fun! I have left but you are not forgotten. I will be back when I can! muahhahha

loves

(feel free to pm me)

Gyon
Tiel
Die-hard

Re: Hello Bello

Post by Tiel » 08 Jul 2011 11:43

Cello Gy!

Good to know you're still alive, of course the guild and realm isn't the same without you.
So what kind of coding should you look in to? We're talking programming languages here, right?
Is it just basic understanding of how coding works and how the languages interpret everything or do you have to actually be able to write something in a specific language? If so, which one?
For TFS, I would think it's a good start to get some knowledge of SQL. The language is used to talk to databases and teaches you how data is stored, read and altered. Lots of tutorials on that on Google.
Lemme know, I'm always able to answer questions about computer stuff, although my specialty lies in web: php/mysql/html/css/javascript and the lot.
shiftnshape

Post by shiftnshape » 08 Jul 2011 12:33